TIP OF THE SPEAR / THE BRIEF / ISSUE 001 · OCTOBER 20, 2026 · POLICY
Good morning. Comments on the FAR overhaul's second batch closed Monday night. The biggest rule in the batch covers seven parts of the FAR, and Part 15 is the one teams will feel, because it picks up a new way to choose a winner. The agency ranks offers on technical merit and only then asks whether the price is fair.
The main docket drew 47 comments before the window shut, which is a quiet docket for rules that will govern most commercial buys for years. The FAR Council writes the final rules from that record, and you can read it on Regulations.gov.
New look. You may have noticed the Brief got a haircut. Every award in Money Moves now carries its ceiling and the amount actually obligated on the same line, because those two numbers are rarely close. The Opportunity Radar is a 14-day table now, built to be forwarded to whoever owns the deadline.
Forecasts moved to Thursday's Call, where each one gets a date and a public grade on the scoreboard.
Was this forwarded to you? Sign up here.
01 / THE SIGNAL
Part 15 just closed for comment, and it moves price to the back of the line
Comments on the second batch of Revolutionary FAR Overhaul rules closed Monday, October 19. The batch holds four proposed rules, and the biggest, FAR Case 2026-003, rewrites Parts 8, 12, 13, 15, 38, 44 and 51.
Part 15 is where a capture team will feel it first. The proposed rule adds a source selection method called highest technically rated with a fair and reasonable price. The agency ranks offers on technical merit and then checks whether the top offer's price is fair and reasonable.
A cheaper offer ranked second on technical merit only comes into play if the top offer fails that check. The rule also formalizes phased evaluations, so an agency can thin the field before anyone writes a full proposal.
The negotiation rules loosen up too. A contracting officer could go back to one offeror in the competitive range more than once without reopening talks with the others, and the competitive range would no longer need to hold every highly rated proposal. Exchanges before the competitive range would disappear.
Clarifications could run all the way to award, though you couldn't use one to fix your proposal. Late proposals could also be accepted when that's in the government's interest and doesn't hold up award, which means somebody's courier is going to get a second chance eventually.
Part 12 gets rebuilt around commercial buying. It absorbs the simplified procedures and raises the threshold for using them on commercial products and services to $9 million, or $15 million in certain emergencies. The rule would also delete 52.212-5, the omnibus clause most people scroll through looking for the three paragraphs that apply to them, along with its companion provision, 52.212-3.
Construction could be bought as a commercial service under a companion case, FAR Case 2026-001. Part 38 would go away entirely, leaving schedule rules to GSA's own regulation.
None of this is final. The FAR Council plans 12 proposed rules in all. This batch brings the count to eight, and the last four have no publication date. Paperwork comments on two other rules in the batch, FAR Case 2026-006 and FAR Case 2026-011, stay open until November 23.
What it means for you: trigger or date | Action |
|---|---|
Now, dockets public | Read the filings on FAR-2026-0003. The changes industry pushed back on are the likeliest to move. |
Your next "highest technically rated" bid | Write the technical volume to win outright. Build price support early so the top offer clears fair and reasonable. |
November 23, 11:59 p.m. ET | Paperwork comments close on FAR Cases 2026-006 and 2026-011. File one if the burden estimates are off. |
FROM TIP OF THE SPEAR
The Year-End Defense Calendar is free for readers. It runs from now through December 31, and every date in it carries a source and a status tag so you can tell a hard deadline from a hopeful one. Page three lists five dates you may still have on your calendar that are wrong, starting with CMMC on November 10. Get the calendar
02 / MONEY MOVES
FUNDING · Ceiling not disclosed · Obligated none · Framework agreement, multiyear contract in negotiation
BAE Systems · APKWS guidance kits
The Pentagon and BAE signed a framework Monday for up to 25,000 APKWS kits a year for up to seven years, with room to reach 35,000 a year as allies order through Foreign Military Sales. Neither side announced a price, and Congress still has to approve and fund the buy. The kits turn unguided 2.75-inch rockets into laser-guided rounds, which makes them a cheap counter-drone shot. Suppliers to the Hudson, New Hampshire, and Austin lines should plan for volume and wait for the appropriation. Source
PROGRAMS · Ceiling $8 billion · Obligated $800,000 · Cost-plus-fixed-fee IDIQ · sole source
Raytheon · Air Force strategic communications terminals
The Air Force Nuclear Weapons Center gave Raytheon a sole-source IDIQ with an $8 billion ceiling for terminal modernization, production restart and technical studies on its strategic communications terminals, running through October 12, 2036. It obligated $800,000 at award from fiscal 2026 RDT&E funds. At that pace it would take another 9,999 awards just like it to reach the ceiling. Subcontractors on nuclear command and control terminals should watch for the first task orders. Source
EMERGING TECH · One-year total $93.6 million across nine firms · Per-company amounts not disclosed
Nine companies · Army NGC2 applications
The Army picked nine companies on October 14 to build applications for Next Generation Command and Control: General Dynamics Mission Systems, Air Space Intelligence Federal, Immersive Wisdom, LMI, Mente Systems, Stilman Advanced Strategies, Onebrief, Rune Technologies and AIR. They split $93.6 million over one year. The apps run on a common data layer from Anduril, Palantir, Raft and Striveworks. Anduril's September 30 award to keep refining that layer was $162.8 million, with a ceiling of $1.8 billion. Source
PROGRAMS · Value $74.3 million · Obligated $74.3 million at award · Firm-fixed-price modification · Foreign Military Sales
Lockheed Martin · SEWIP AN/SLQ-32(V)6
The Navy added $74.3 million to Lockheed's contract for AN/SLQ-32(V)6 shipboard electronic warfare systems, built in Liverpool, New York, with work running to September 2029. Foreign buyers are paying for almost all of it. Canada put in $38.4 million and Japan $35.4 million, with the Coast Guard adding $457,768. Allied navies are keeping a US electronic warfare line busy, and suppliers on that line should track the FMS cases behind each order. Source
THE NUMBER
Monday's framework covers up to 25,000 APKWS kits a year.
Answer and source in Thursday's issue.
03 / OPPORTUNITY RADAR · NEXT 14 DAYS
Date | What | Action |
|---|---|---|
Oct 23 | Army Project Gatekeeper opens to vendors with a CAC. Wider access through Login.gov is targeted for mid-November. | Software firms: get a CAC holder to submit code for accreditation scanning. |
Oct 28 | DIU solution briefs due for Marine Corps power distribution (I-MEPDIS). | Tactical power firms: file. The prototype can go to production without a new competition. |
Oct 29 | Feinberg memo 45-day deadline for 15-business-day commercial determinations and interim OT policy. | Line up pending commerciality requests. Scoreboard call #11 resolves. |
About Oct 30 | Project Agincourt plan for the Autonomous Warfare Command is due to Hegseth. It may not be released. | Autonomy and drone firms: watch for any readout. |
Nov 3 | Election Day. Congress returns November 9, and the CR runs out December 11. | Plan for a CR past December 11. New starts generally wait under a CR. |
PRO CUT · A PREVIEW OF CAPTURE SIGNALS
ACT Tactical power · October 28
DIU wants prototypes of a new Marine Corps power distribution system, and briefs are due in eight days
If you build tactical power distribution, file a solution brief by 11:59:59 p.m. ET on October 28. A successful prototype can move to production without a new competition.
Capture Signals lands every Friday with five moves like this one, each tagged Act, Watch or Ignore. Insider is $19 a month.
04 / THE LAST WORD
This is the first Brief in the new format, which makes you the test audience. Hit reply and tell me which section you'd cut first. I read every answer, and I promise not to sulk.
If your team filed comments on the FAR batch, I'd like to hear what you pushed on. I'll report the themes next week with no names attached.
Semper Fi,
Justin
How useful was today's issue?
Reading this as a team? Team 5 and Team 10 plans put Pro on everyone's desk on one invoice, and we accept purchase orders. See team plans
Disclosure: Sponsors and clients have no input on editorial content or forecasts. Justin's affiliations and our corrections policy are on the Standards and Disclosures page.
Defense and national security intelligence, Tuesdays and Thursdays at 7:00am ET. Topics: Policy, Funding, Programs and Emerging Tech. Published by Nerdrums LLC.
